400 Years of Political Science in Uppsala: Jubilee Ceremony

Join us for a jubilee ceremony in the University Grand Auditorium in which we commemorate 400 years of political science in Uppsala. Open for everyone. No registration needed. Free choice of clothing.

October 1 marks the 400th anniversary of Johan Skytte's donation which was used to found the Johan Skytte Chair in Eloquence and Politics. Today, the chair is the oldest, still-surviving professor's chair in political science in the world. To commemorate this jubilee, we will address the big political issues that resonated in society at the time when the chair was founded and those that define our time.


Words of welcome from rector magnificus Anders Hagfeldt and patron of the Johan Skytte donation Jonas Mörner.

Jubilee lecture: "The talented Mr. Skytte – A Tale of Education, Eloquence and Modernity", by Li Bennich-Björkman, the current (and 21st) Johan Skytte Professor of Eloquence and Political Science

Panel discussion: "Political Science in Turbulent Times: A Conversation about Research and Its Frontiers", featuring Li Bennich-Björkman, Joakim Palme and the three most recent recipients of the Nobel prize in Political Science, the Johan Skytte Prize. These are Peter J. Katzenstein, David D. Laitin and Robert E. Goodin.

Read more about Johan Skytte and the advent of political science in Uppsala here: https://www.uu.se/en/about-uu/history/buildings/skytteanum/.

Additional information

Jubilee poster